Prof. Owen studies the coordination chemistry of colloidal semiconductor nanocrystals and the mechanism of nanocrystal nucleation and growth. He has received the 3M Nontenured Faculty Award (2010), The Early Career Award from the Department of Energy (2011), The DuPont Young Faculty Award (2011), the CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation (2012), and the Award in Pure Chemistry from the American Chemical Society (2016).